World-class Scientific Review Committees

Our funding philosophy is to follow the most innovative and promising ideas that will lead to a cure for diseases of mind and sight. 

Each year, our Scientific Review Committees (SRC) comprised of renowned leaders in their fields, recommend new research opportunities for BrightFocus to advance our goal of defeating Alzheimer’s, macular degeneration, and glaucoma.    

BrightFocus currently funds more than $75 million across 287 research projects worldwide through its three programs, Alzheimer’s Disease Research, Macular Degeneration Research, and National Glaucoma Research.

Jump to:


The following experts have served on each committee within the preceding five years:

Alzheimer's Disease Research

Committee Members

  • Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri

  • Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas

  • Washington University School of Medicine

  • Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri

  • University of Kentucky

  • University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, California

  • University of California, Irvine, Irvine, California

  • Emory University

  • University College London

  • Columbia University Medical Center

  • Baylor College of Medicine, Houstion, Texas

  • University of Kentucky

  • University of California, San Francisco, California

  • University of California San Francisco, California

  •  Emory University School of Medicine

  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

  • Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri

  • Ichan School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai

  • Emory University School of Medicine

  • University of California, San Diego, California

  • Baylor College of Medicine

  • University of Pennsylvania

  • Washington University
    St. Louis, MO

  • Kansas University Medical Center, Kansas City, KS

  • University of Florida

  • Boston University

  • University of South Florida

  • Northwestern University

  • University of British Columbia

  • Indiana University

  • Boston University

  • University of Connecticut School of Medicine

  • Mayo Clinic

  • Case Western Reserve University

Macular Degeneration Research

Committee Members

  • University of California at Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California

  • Cleveland Clinic

  • University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

  • Duke University

  • Vanderbilt University

  • Hadassah Medical Center Jerusalem Israel

  • Retina Foundation of the Southwest, TX

  • University of Washington

  • Oregon Health & Science University

  • Indiana University

  • University of California, San Francisco
    San Francisco, CA

  • University of Florida Health

  • University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine

  • Thomas Jefferson University

  • University of Montreal

  • Boston Children's Hospital
    Boston, MA

  • University of California, San Diego

National Glaucoma Research

Committee Members

  • Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon

  • University of Montreal, Montreal, Canada

  • Harvard Medical School 

  • University of North Texas, Denton, Texas

  • Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia

  • Mayo Clinic

  • Duke University, Durham, NC

  • University of Mississippi

  • University of N. Texas Health Science Center

  •  Havard Medical School

  • Moorfields Eye Hospital

  • Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tennessee

  • University of Rochester

  • Duke University, Durham, North Carolina

  • University of Missouri-Columbia

  • University of California, Davis, California

  • University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI

  • Duke University, Durham, North Carolina

  • The University of Wisconsin, Madison, Madison, Wisconsin

  • University of California, San Francisco 

  • Wake Forest University, Winston Salem, NC

  • Duke University Eye Center

  • University of Florida College of Medicine

*Updated July 2023.