Scientific Review Committees

Each BrightFocus program has its own Scientific Review Committee (SRC), composed of established, well-regarded investigators from universities and research institutes worldwide. All research funding applications are carefully peer-reviewed and rated by SRC members.

The SRCs then convey their recommendations to the BrightFocus Board of Directors which bases final funding decisions on the results of this formal, rigorous process, taking into account program goals and availability of funds.

SRC reviewers must have the appropriate expertise and must decline to review any applications for which there may be a potential conflict of interest. In addition, reviewers may not participate in any review cycle in which they have submitted an application for funding. Both the information in grant applications and the deliberations of the SRCs are strictly confidential.

Alzheimer's Disease Research Program


Edward Koo, M.D. (University of California, San Diego, La, Jolla, California)

David R. Borchelt, Ph.D. (University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida)

Committee Members:

  • M. Flint Beal, M.D. (The New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center, New York, New York)
  • Guojun Bu, Ph.D. (Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Florida)
  • George Carlson, Ph.D. (McLaughin Research Institue, Great Falls, Montana)
  • Mark D'Esposito, M.D. (University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California)
  • Steven Estus, Ph.D. (University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky)
  • Matthew Frosch, M.D., Ph.D. (Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts)
  • Douglas Galasko, M.D. (University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, California)
  • Charles G. Glabe, Ph.D. (University of California, Irvine, Irvine, California)
  • Alison M. Goate, D.Phil. (Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri)
  • Yukiko Goda, Ph.D. (RIKEN Brain Science Institute, Saitama, Japan)
  • Todd E. Golde, M.D., Ph.D. (University of Florida in Gainesville, Florida)
  • John Hardy, Ph.D., FMedSci, FRS (University College London, London, UK)
  • Karl Herrup, Ph.D. ( Rutgers University, Piscataway, New Jersey)
  • David M. Holtzman, M.D. (Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri)
  • William Jagust, M.D. (University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California)
  • John "Keoni" Kauwe, Ph.D. (Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah)
  • Cynthia A. Lemere, Ph.D. (Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts)
  • Allan I. Levey, M.D. Ph.D. (Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Ronald K. Liem, Ph.D. (Columbia University, New York, New York)
  • John M. Olichney, M.D. (University of California, Davis , California)
  • Gerard Schellenberg, Ph.D. (University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  • Jane Sullivan, Ph.D. (University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, Washington)
  • Rudolph Tanzi, Ph.D. (Massachusetts General Hospital, Charleston, Massachusetts)
  • Gopal Thinakaran, Ph.D. (University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois)
  • Ronald B. Wetzel, Ph.D. (University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)
  • Kristine Yaffe, M.D. (Universith of California, San Francisco, California)
  • Tony Wyss-Coray, Ph.D. (Stanford University Medical School, Stanford, California)
  • Riqiang Yan, Ph.D. (Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, Ohio)
  • Hui Zheng, Ph.D. (Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas)

Macular Degeneration Research program


Joe G. Hollyfield, Ph.D. (The Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, Ohio)

Committee Members:

  • Bela Anand-Apte, Ph.D. (The Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, Ohio)
  • Robert E. Anderson, M.D., Ph.D. (University of Oklahoma Health Sciences, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)
  • John D. Ash, Ph.D. (University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida)
  • Catherine Bowes-Rickman, Ph.D. (Duke University, Durham, NC)
  • Deborah Ferrington, Ph.D. (University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN)
  • Michael B. Gorin M.D., Ph.D. (University of California at Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California)
  • Claire Harris, Ph.D. (Cardiff University, Cardiff, Wales)
  • Alfred S. Lewin, Ph.D. (University of Florida, Gainesville, Gainesville, Florida)
  • John Penn, Ph.D. (Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville, Tennessee)
  • Nancy J. Philp, Ph.D. (Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  • Sylvia B. Smith, Ph.D. (Georgia Health Sciences University, Augusta, Georgia)

National Glaucoma Research program


John C. Morrison, M.D. (Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon)

Committee Members:

  • R. Rand Allingham, M.D. (Duke University, Durham, North Carolina)
  • Claude F. Burgoyne, M.D. (Devers Eye Institute, Portland, Oregon)
  • Abbot F. Clark, Ph.D. (University of North Texas, Denton, Texas)
  • Anne L. Coleman, M.D., Ph.D. (University of California, Los Angeles, California)
  • J. Crawford Downs, Ph.D. (Devers Eye Institute, Portland, Oregon)
  • C. Ross Ethier Ph.D. (Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory School of Medicine, Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Thomas F. Freddo, O.D., Ph.D. (University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada)
  • Jeffrey L. Goldberg, M.D. (University of California, San Diego, California)
  • Richard Libby, Ph. D. (University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, New York)
  • Stuart J. McKinnon, M.D., Ph.D. (Duke University, Durham, North Carolina)
  • Robert W. Nickells, Ph.D. (The University of Wisconsin, Madison, Madison, Wisconsin)
  • Ian Sigal, Ph.D. (University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)
  • Arthur J. Sit, M.D. (Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota)
  • W. Daniel Stamer, Ph.D. (Duke University, Durham, NC)
  • James N. Ver Hoeve, Ph.D. (University of Wisconsin, Madison, Madison, Wisconsin)
  • Mary Wirtz, Ph.D. (Oregon Health &Science University, Portland, Oregon)
  • Darrell WuDunn, M.D., Ph.D. (Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana)