Text Size Normal Text Sizing Button Medium Text Sizing Button Large Text Sizing Button Text Contrast Normal Contrast Button Reverse Contrast Button Switch to Spanish Language Press Room Contact Us Sitemap Sign In Register
Link to Homepage About BrightFocus
Donate Now Get Involved  
Alzheimer's Disease Research Macular Degeneration Research National Glaucoma Research

Contact Us
Connect With Us!

BrightFocus Foundation
Scientific Review Committees

Each BrightFocus program, Alzheimer's Disease Research (ADR), Macular Degeneration Research (MDR) and National Glaucoma Research (NGR), has its own Scientific Review Committee (SRC) composed of established, well-regarded investigators from universities and research institutes worldwide.

All applications to BrightFocus for research funding are carefully peer-reviewed and rated by SRC members on the basis of scientific merit. SRC reviewers must have the appropriate expertise and must decline to review any applications for which there may be a potential conflict of interest. In addition, reviewers may not participate in any review cycle in which they have submitted an application for funding. Finally, both the information in grant applications and the deliberations of the SRCs are strictly confidential.

SRC ratings given to applications are based on the relevance of the research to improving understanding of these diseases and promoting better prevention or treatments. The SRCs then convey their recommendations to the BrightFocus Board of Directors which bases final funding decisions on the results of this formal, rigorous process, taking into account program goals and availability of funds. Grants are awarded annually to researchers at universities and institutions worldwide.

Advancing the Field: The Importance of Research Grants and the Scientific Review Process


Alzheimer's Disease Research Scientific Review Committee

Co-Chair: Edward Koo, MD (University of California, San Diego, La, Jolla, California)

Co-Chair: David R. Borchelt, PhD (University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida)

View all of the committee members


Macular Degeneration Research Scientific Review Committee

Chair: Joe G. Hollyfield, PhD (The Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, Ohio)

View all of the committee members


National Glaucoma Research Scientific Review Committee

Chair: John C. Morrison, MD (Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon)

View all of the committee members

Last Review: 09/12/14

Twitter Facebook Shop for a Cause YouTube Pinterest Google+